Designed Objects Tasmania (DOT) is the leading and longest running independent design collective in Tasmania. The organisation has a state wide membership base and provides studio space, workshops facilities with specialist equipment, mentoring by some of the most experienced Tasmanian timber designer makers, networking, exhibitions, professional development opportunities to practicing designers and two annual scholarships to new graduate designers. Through its programs, DOT forges strategic partnerships with industry, manufacturing, education and community bodies nurturing, supporting and advocating for best practice design in Tasmania.

Our mission is to talk Design, do Design and develop Design.


In 1986 ten Tasmanian designers united under the banner of the Designer Makers Cooperative in order to pool their resources, creativities and expertise in a spirit of cooperation and community.

In 2004 the Designer Makers’ Cooperative of eighteen years became Designed Objects Tasmania Inc (DOT) – a not-for-profit organisation that aimed to bring together the values of the original cooperative while reaching a wider network of designers.

Board members

  • Duncan Meerding – President and Chair – Designer and DOT member on the board
  • Duncan Meerding – Vice President – Designer and DOT member on the board
  • Bernadette Schramm – Treasurer – Accountant
  • Murray Jessup – OHS Manger – Designer and DOT member
  • Nelle Seccombe – Business Development – Designer and DOT member
  • Jye Edwards – Members representative – Designer and DOT member
  • Finn Seccombe – Events and Exhibitions – Designer and DOT member
  • Ross Straker – Social media and Promotion – UTAS and Polytechnic – Designer and DOT member
  • To be filled – Retail Advice – Creative Producer
  • To be filled – Links with Architects – Architect


Designed Objects Tasmania is assisted through Arts Tasmania by the Minister for the Arts.

Logo - Tasmanian Government - Explore the possibilities